Water Lover’s Anonymous

We are a water loving family. We love beaches, pools, water balloons, jacuzzi’s…. any type of water play. Lately, since the weather has been nice, we have been swimming about 4-5 times a week. The pool is a shared pool for all the condo’s (I may have mentioned this before, but we are currently renting). Autumn has met and continues to meet kids at the pool all the time! We are so lucky that we live in a community with TONS of toddlers her age. The last few days she has been bonding with a two year old named Nicky. He is SOOOOO cute, and they are literally the exact same size (even though he’s five months older). After we leave the pool she can’t stop talking about him! She says “Nicky boy SWIMMING” and I can’t stop laughing at how adorable it is. She has a ton of friends, and half of them are in our condo complex. I feel very blessed at how social she is because she has been given constant opportunities to meet new kids.

So anyway, when Autumn first started going in the pool, she was really scared of the water. I wanted her to learn but also get over her fear so about a week ago, I bought her “Stearns Deluxe Puddle Jumper” swim vest (I’ll attach photo’s below). It arrived yesterday and today we went swimming with it. I would seriously recommend this product to anyone who is training a toddler to swim!! I didn’t have to hold her at all!!! I stood by her at all times just to be safe, but she was literally (in only one day) learning how to kick and swim. It’s incredible! We spent two hours in the pool, and can’t wait to go at it again tomorrow or Monday.

About my surgery. I spent about $200 to get a bunch of stuff that I truly think I will need for life after surgery. After all the blogs and videos I’ve read/watched, these are the things that many people have recommended to make life easier post-op. I am putting pics below, but I also wanted to make a list just in case the picture wasn’t clear enough. I also added hyperlinks to recipes or the exact products I bought just to be a little more specific.

-A scale (link here).

-A food scale (I got this one).

-Portion control pasta basket (link here).

-Portion control plate (link here).

-Nonfat dry milk (link here).

-2 mini ice cube trays (for healthy frozen protein snacks).

-A blender bottle (I got this one).

PB2 (dry peanut butter, much healthier and good source of protein).

-Sweet drops (basically a healthy artificial sweetener- link here).

-Popsicle molds (for recipes such as this one).

-Wooden popsicle sticks (see why here)

-Exercise/stretching equipment (I got these).

Really quick I just want to explain what some of these items do/are for because some of them are a little confusing (or at least I was a little confused when reading about some of it). The food scale is to measure/weigh out all of the food you eat. For example, you decide that tonight you are going to eat 3 ounces of chicken for dinner. Put the chicken on the scale and measure out 3 ounces exactly. Voila! Much better than “eyeballing” it and eating too much or too little. The blender bottle comes with a tiny silver “spring ball” (you can see it if you look closely at the pic). The ball is used to shake up any protein powder clumps in the bottle. Protein powder (usually) tastes nasty, so this blender bottle can really come in handy. The rest of the stuff on the list I think is pretty self explanatory, but if ya’ll have any questions on anything, feel free to email me at sdimand@gmail.com. I am very open and always willing to share details and discuss further.

Before I continue to rant endlessly, I am gonna let ya’ll go. Happy (day-late) Fathers Day everyone!

Dimand Girl

 

“Motivate the mind; the body will follow.”- Lisa Savelli

“Just keep swimming.”- Dory (from Finding Nemo)

“Promise me you will not spend so much time treading water and trying to keep your head above the waves that you forget, truly forget, how much you have always loved to swim.”- Tyler Knott Gregson

DSCF0643

DSCF0653

^^^Autumn with her new floatie/life saver!!^^^

photo 1

^^^All the stuff listed above (minus the body mass scale)^^^

 

One thought on “Water Lover’s Anonymous

Leave a Reply

