The Pursuit of Rash Cream

Hey guys! Now I am 6 days post-op. The pain is pretty much gone, except for a little soreness or pinching at the staple sites. I am very excited to get my staples out in 2 days!! Hoping I will be able to sleep on my side after I get them out, because forcing myself to sleep on my back sucks. I have been getting 32-34 ounces of water daily without fail. I need to start working my way up to 64 ounces, but it’s already a struggle getting in half of that. WLS problems! 😉

Here’s my (mostly) non-surgery related updates:

-Sophia and I found a gym! It’s called Planet Fitness and we got the black card. The one by us has good reviews, though a lot of other ones kind of don’t. Loved the price though! Only $20 a month per person!

-I made 6 new health related boards on Pinterest! They are for healthy snack options, breakfast options, lunch options, dinner options, sides options, and dessert options (apparently there IS such a thing as healthy desserts!).

Here’s my surgery related updates:

-I have a horrible rash that started the night I got home from the hospital. It has a mind of it’s own. One hour it’s all over my bum and itching like crazy, and the next hour it’s on my back towards my hips. Two hours after that, it’s on the back of my legs and knees, and an hour after that it’s on the back of my arms. It keeps moving and it’s just a patch of inflamed red marks. They die down and then pop back up soon enough. No clue what started it or what to do, but I will be asking my surgeon about it when I go to get my staples out. It might be a reaction to some of the medicine or something, no clue. Definitely need to fix it though, because it’s driving me CRAZY! I might need to see a dermatologist which is annoying because I already have so many appointments coming up.

-The first 2-3 days post-op, I pretty much never felt hungry. Now it’s completely different. I feel hungry a lot, all throughout the day. I still get full right away, but I feel hungry all the time. I didn’t expect to be hungry at all this soon. I looked it up online, and I found out what I’m feeling is extremely common even as far out as 2-3 weeks post-op. Online it says that it’s because the nerves around my stomach have been cut and tampered with, and that’s why the fullness sensation is not in full effect (pun intended). Most people said that after 2-3 weeks, when their nerves were healed, they felt full ALL THE TIME and had to even remind themselves to eat. This made me feel a lot better because I was freaking myself out that I was going to be the exception and the surgery didn’t work all the way on me. LOL I’m such a worrywart!

-I have had 2 days now of the full liquid diet. I was able to add no sugar added fudgesicles and protein shakes. In fact I was told to start centering my diet around protein shakes to ensure that I’m getting enough protein. I have 2 types of protein shakes I’m currently using: 1) Carnation’s Instant Breakfast chocolate (I don’t like vanilla or strawberry), 2) Body Fortress Whey Isolate chocolate. I LIKE both of them, but don’t love them at all. I make them with 7-8 fl.oz. of fat free milk, which hasn’t upset my stomach (so far) at all. Only problem is they are very filling and I am finding that I can only get down half of one per day. I need to work on getting in at least one a day.

Here’s to hoping these are my largest problems post-op! Love to all,

Dimand Girl

Heighest Weight (pre op): 330

Surgery Weight: 310

Current Weight: 299

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.”- Nelson Mandela

“Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”- Muhammad Ali

Leave a Reply

