Pumpkin Everything

The title fits…. pumpkin everything! We carved a pumpkin, baked pumpkin seeds, been to two pumpkin patches (going to a third tomorrow!), I’ve even been drinking sugar free pumpkin spice coffee mate! PUMPKIN EVERYTHING, people, and it is GLORIOUS!

So on Thursday night my dad and Helen watched Autumn so we could go to haunted house #1 of the season. It was Gregg’s first time at a haunted house so naturally I did what any good friend would do— stuck him up front! He was super terrified! We originally planned on going to The Massacre Haunt (as mentioned in my previous blog post), but we had a slight change of plan. The Massacre Haunt was an hour drive from my dads, and we didn’t want them to have to watch Autumn too late (plus we didn’t want her being up too far past her bedtime), so we decided to find a closer haunted house. Well, it worked out great! We found what is now my favorite haunted house of all time! Yup, The Massacre Haunt has been dethroned. It’s still amazing, but honestly the new place is just a little bit better. (For any Illinois peeps (or visitors)) It’s called Evil Intentions. It’s in Elgin, Illinois which was perfect because it’s only 20 minutes from my dads place! AND IT WAS SUPER SCARY! I don’t want to give too much away, but I’ll just say this- wear running shoes!!

Saturday night/yesterday we had our Halloween Party. It was seriously the biggest blast! We all dressed up, played games, ate food, and talked. We decked out our apartment with Halloween decorations and it really turned out awesome. We hit a giant pumpkin pinata, went bobbing for apples, played the mummy wrap, etc. We ordered pizza and I ate a whole slice! (minus the top part of the crust).

Tomorrow my brother is picking up Autumn and I and we are going to our third pumpkin patch! I’m really excited because my dad and Helen are coming this time! Having family time can be very refreshing, especially on a Monday which usually sucks (because the weekend is over). Plus, by now y’all know about my obsession with fall time and pumpkin patches!

Time for the surgery related stuff. In terms of losing weight I definitely feel like a “slow loser”, but my nutritionist continuously assures me that I’m doing great. However as of two weeks ago I am totally stalled. I HATE STALLS! Yes, I know they’re normal. And yes, I know it won’t last (quick- knock on wood!). But it’s still super frustrating! It’s partially my fault, but partially to be expected. My nutritionist and surgeon told me that stalls are inevitable even if you go to the gym 6-7 times a week. I should be going to the gym more. The good news is though that even though I haven’t been going to the gym as much, I have been much more active in general. For example, we’ve been going on walks almost daily. On the haunted house day, I walked over 7,000 steps! I’ve just been more active in life. That’s no excuse to not go to the gym, but it’s something. I am upset with myself about some things though. I stopped meal planning and it’s not good. I’ve been eating out more (salad from Panera, sushi here and there, etc). This has to stop. I need to hold myself accountable and do the best I can. I can’t half-ass this process and expect it to do the work for me. It’s a tool, not a fix. I will keep updating you all on that.

On November 5th (so about 10 days) I have a doctor appointment where I will learn all of the results from my blood tests. I will definitely keep you all updated on that since the biggest reason I got this surgery was to get rid of diabetes and hypertension.

If I don’t post before then, HAPPY HALLOWEEN EVERYONE!!!! Have fun and be safe!

Dimand Girl

HW: 330

SW: 310

CW: 269

“Stop beating yourself up. You are a work in progress which means you get there a little at a time, not all at once.”- Unknown

“It doesn’t matter how slow you go as long as you do not stop.”- Confucius

“Listen! The wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves, We have had our summer evenings, now for October eves!”- Humbert Wolfe

IMG_0750

^^Leaf playing sessions #5 and #6^^

IMG_0752

^^First haunted house of the season!^^

image1

^^Halloween Party Pics! (for more go to my facebook)^^

Leave a Reply

