Quitter’s Never Win

SORRY GUYS!!! I know it may feel like I fell off the face of the planet… I didn’t! I’ve been really busy with the holiday’s, hubby has been getting sick literally once a month (he just started working with kindergartners a couple months ago), and the list goes on and on. I have many updates though, so this may be a very long post- bare with me!

The blog title is meant to express my guilt. I quit with my personal trainer after only two sessions. After really evaluating the cost, I realized it’s more then I can pay right now. I’m trying to supplement the loss by going to the gym more and doing more intense workouts. An example of this (this was my exact workout yesterday): I did 1.16 miles on the arc (in 35 minutes) on the interval setting. Then I did half a mile (.5) on the elliptical in 4 minutes. Unfortunately there’s no interval setting on the elliptical so I just try my best to speed up- slow down- speed up- slow down. I’ve also been adding in some weight training and some of the different workout’s I was taught in my two sessions of personal training. It’s definitely helping because I’ve lost three pounds this week!

Since I loved personal training so much, I’m looking for some cheaper alternatives. Some suggestions I’ve gotten (and am really interested in) is Zumba, Crossfit, and boot camp classes. I’m interested in them because I like having a teacher/coach showing me direction and helping me with positioning my body and my stance. I also feel more motivated when there’s someone else there helping to hold me accountable. Not to mention a lot of people have had incredible results with these classes/programs.

Thanksgiving festivities turned out to be really nice! The week before actual Thanksgiving my family got together and met at my dad’s (a sort of pre-Thanksgiving). We all brought a dish or two and it was a total success! The food was all incredible! I tried to eat more turkey than anything but it would be a flat out lie to say that I ate well. I had some mac n cheese, mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie- you get the picture! The night was pretty fun, but there’s no shortage of arguments when you get the family together!

On actual Thanksgiving day Alex was still a little sick (just a cough and a fever), so we didn’t really have any plans. Timur went to his family’s Thanksgiving this year. Alex and I used leftover’s from my family’s Thanksgiving dinner (plus we made some more turkey on the stove) and actually made a nice Thanksgiving feast for the three of us (Autumn loved it!!). We spent the day/night playing chess, checkers, card games, and coloring with Autumn, and I couldn’t have been happier! How was all of your Thanksgiving’s?! For all my post-op surgery friends, did you splurge also (if not, please lie and tell me you did anyway…. that way I don’t feel too guilty 😉 )

Yesterday Alex, Timur, Gregg and I took Autumn to the circus! We saw “Legends” at the United Center in Chicago (it’s a Ringling Bro’s production). Autumn had a blast!!! She was clapping, laughing, and dancing through the whole show!! Only towards the end did she start to get a little restless. And to be honest, I had a blast too! I haven’t been to the circus in probably 15 years, but it was so much fun! After the show we sat down in Panera and had dinner. It was a great night, and it was Autumn’s first show ever! If y’all haven’t been to the circus (or any kid friendly shows) in a while I highly recommend going (even if you don’t have any little one’s). I may have had more fun than Autumn! 😉

Last but definitely not least update- drum roll please- MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL IS FINALLY UP!!! So far I only have some video’s that other people took of my pre-op and post-op hospital stay, and two video updates that I filmed almost a month ago. I will try to update the weblog as often as possible. Right now I’m aiming for once a month, but I can do it more frequently if y’all love it. The link to the channel is https://www.youtube.com/RNYdimandgirl

Until next time,

Dimand Girl

HW: 330

SW: 310

CW: 263 (almost to the 250’s!!!)

“I’ll look back on this and smile because it was life and I decided to live it.”- Unknown

“As we express our gratitude we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.”- John Fitzgerald Kennedy

“Gratitude helps us to see what is there instead of what isn’t.”- Annette Bridges

IMG_2506 (2)

^^Family Thanksgiving!!^^

IMG_2517 (2)

^^Our mini-feast on actual Turkey Day!^^

10502333_10203985732901120_6687989840308711556_n

^^Circus!!^^

Leave a Reply

