I ♥ [Zucchini] Noodles!

So since I don’t have that much to say today, this will be an interesting cross between a recipe post and an update.

I have always loved noodles! Ramen noodles, pasta noodles, any type of noodles. Since surgery I have been severely craving a noodle binge. I’ve taken bites of pasta here and there and they always make me sick. Just as I was mourning my loss, a friend of mine recommended the Vegetti. I added it to my “Want for Chanukah” list and just kind of forgot about it. On the first night of Chanukah the boys gave it to me, and last night I tried it for the first time… AND LOVED IT!! I know you can use it for anything (carrots, cucumber, etc), but I used it for zucchini noodles. They are soooo good! I am no longer mourning noodles. Not to mention they’re healthy and they count as a serving of veggie’s! I used it in a stir fry last night and it was probably the best stir fry I’ve ever had!

-2 oz squid (frozen or fresh)

-2 oz bay or sea scallops (frozen or fresh)

-5 shrimp (frozen or fresh)

-1 heaping tablespoon of minced garlic 

-1 teaspoon of paprika

-1/4 teaspoon of pepper

-a pinch or two of salt

-1 medium sized zucchini

-2 tablespoons of butter

-1/2 cup frozen broccoli

Thaw the seafood. Preheat the oven on high broil setting. Combine melted butter, paprika, chopped garlic, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Clean the squid, scallops, and shrimp, and dry thoroughly. One by one dip the seafood in the paprika butter mix and place it on the baking pan. Broil for 5 minutes. Take out of the oven and flip each piece of seafood. Brush on more paprika butter mix. Broil for another 5 minutes, and done! Take out a wok or a large enough pan for all of the seafood (I always use my wok). Put in a little oil and let it heat up until it’s crackling a little bit. Throw in the broccoli and let sit for 1-2 minutes (if using frozen broccoli, heat up in the microwave first). Throw in zucchini noodles and let them sit for 1 minute. Throw in all the seafood and let sit another 1-2 minutes stirring occasionally. Serve. 

I know this dish is a little more complex than the other one’s I’ve posted, but it’s so worth it! The nutritional stats for this meal are out of this world, especially since this meal will fill you up 100%. 393 calories, 13 carbs, and 29 grams of protein! It’s so good I can’t wait to make it again!

Autumn loves Chanukah. Every night we light the candles and say prayers. After dinner we play dreidel for chocolate coins (don’t worry, I only have a couple). We play traditional Jewish music and dance. Then we let Autumn open a gift. I never imagined I would love the holidays this much because I usually don’t. But having Autumn has made me love them! Every night we have this tradition, and it will bond us forever.

Since everything else on my end is pretty uneventful, I’m going to end this post here!

Happy Eating and Happy Holidays!

Dimand Girl

“Eating is a necessity, but cooking is an art.”- Unknown

“The holiday season is a perfect time to reflect on our blessings and seek out ways to make life better for those around us.”- Terri Marshall

10806244_10204087660569248_1541151046249356717_n

^^My new favorite cooking utensil!^^

3 thoughts on “I ♥ [Zucchini] Noodles!

  1. femarkus says:

    Hey. Just came across a weight loss app and saw you saying that you have a blog on your journey. I find it very interesting. You are a great writer.
    I will probably make myself a surgery next year, so I am a bit confused and afraid right now… If you would not mind, I would like to keep in touch with you. Maybe if you have Facebook? If it is not a problem, please write me on my email…
    Thanks and regards from Brazil,
    Fernanda

  2. femarkus says:

    Hey. I tried to post a comment before, but I am not sure it worked out. I came across your name after downloading an app about weight loss surgery. I loved your blog. You are a great writer. I am also having Chanukah now, seems like we have a lot in common. 🙂 maybe next year I will make the surgery, I am very nervous about it. Hope it works. If you don’t mind, maybe we could talk more? Regards from Brazil, Fernanda

    • Fernanda, happy Chanukah!! Hope your having a great time! Please, feel free to add me on Facebook and message me with any questions you have! I would love to be part of your support system! Talk soon.

Leave a Reply

