Weight Loss Surgery and the Holidays

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s been a couple weeks since I updated. Last time I updated and didn’t have that much to say but this time I’m overwhelmed with topics!

First of all, how was everyone’s holidays?!

My holidays were great but- to be honest- I’m glad for them to be over! The holiday season is a very busy time for everyone. Now that it’s all over I’m just relaxing, kicking back my feet, and enjoying some free time. Ahhhhhhhh.

Chanukah was awesome! Every single night we lit the menorah, said prayers, played dreidel (for gelt [chocolate coins]), and danced to traditional Jewish music. It became a fantastic Chanukah tradition that I intend on keeping every year. We had a blast! On the last couple nights of Chanukah Alex started coughing until he vomited. We found out he had bronchitis and he was put on antibiotics. He’s much better now (finally) but the poor thing was in hell for a few days. I think I’ve already expressed my disdain for Illinois winters, but this is one of the reasons why. I hate that everyone is always sick.

On Christmas day we went to Alex’s parents house and opened gifts. This was our last year doing it as we are raising Autumn Jewish. It’s nothing against Christmas (in fact, I love Christmas lights and Christmas music). It’s just that there are so few Jews in the world and it’s extremely important to me that Autumn grows up in the Jewish faith. We have a Christmas night tradition that I want to keep going every year also. We spend the night getting Chinese food for dinner and when Autumn’s old enough we will also see a movie in theaters.

New Years came in the blink of an eye. It was a lot of fun!! We had some friends over and after Autumn went to bed we had drinks, played drunk charades, and laughed all night. It was a fantastic way to ring in the new year! We also ordered some yummy pizza!

So this month will be my 6 month post op point. I also realized that it’s been one year since I began this process. It was November of 2013 when my sister and I went to the first weight loss surgery meeting at UIC. It was just an information session but I still count it as the beginning of this process. It’s absolutely mind numbing how much can change in a year. An example of that is…. pizza on New Years! I loaded my plate up with three slices and I was convinced that I could eat all three! I was so hungry. Well, after one slice I felt like I would die if I took another bite. Wow. Things have definitely changed. And the next morning I hopped on the scale to discover I lost a pound! Double wow.

After 6 months with my new tool, I’m still trying to figure out what works for me best. My nutritionist said to eat around 800 calories, but that wasn’t working for me. I felt exhausted all the time and after a week I stopped losing weight. I decided to try something new and stopped putting so much pressure on myself. The stress, I am convinced, was actually stopping me from losing weight. I am taking a break from myfitnesspal since I felt it was mainly stressing me out. I stopped counting my water intake also. Instead I just make sure to eat a protein based diet and drink enough water that my urine (sorry to be TMI) is always light. I’m losing weight slowly but surely so I’m just sticking to this for now. Hopefully eventually I’ll find the motivation to start meal tracking/planning and fluid intake tracking. I have also been severely slacking at going to the gym. I think I’ve gone twice all month. I’m embarrassed to even admit that but I have to be honest on this journey. We switched to a new gym (called Zip Fitness) which has a much higher variety of workout machines, but I just never have the desire to go. I need to drop the excuses and get back at it.

This year I’ve learned so much about my body and my brain. I’ve learned about head hunger, healthy habits, and mindless snacking. I’ve learned how to control a lot of my cravings (notice I said a lot- not all). I’ve learned what it takes to become a healthier human being. And I have a lot of work to do. I will always stumble, slip, or fall. But I have learned- most importantly- how to pick myself back up.

Love, peace, happiness and health to all,

Dimand Girl

HW: 330

SW: 310

CW: 256

“We cannot start over, but we can begin now, and make a new ending.”- Zig Ziglar

“Tomorrow, is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”- Brad Paisley

“Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.”- Oprah Winfrey

“A year from now you will wish you had started today.”- Karen Lamb

IMG_3461 (2)

^^Chanukah!^^

IMG_3446 (2)

^^The in-laws’ Christmas celebration^^

IMG_3445 (2)

^^New Years Celebration!!^^

4 thoughts on “Weight Loss Surgery and the Holidays

  1. It was a really great holiday season. Cannot believe it’s been a year since your first appointment! Your doing such a great job and undertaking , we all love you.

  2. Jra says:

    Hello, I saw the post about your blog on one of the support forums. I am actually in Chicago and recently started the process with Dr. Eli. Do you mind answering a few of my questions/providing me with insight? Please email and let me know! Love the blog!

Leave a Reply

