6 Month Post Op!

Hey guys! Once again I went too long without blogging. It’s getting a little more difficult because I have less and less surgery related updates as I get further out.

In two days I will be celebrating my six month surgiversary. Crazy! It’s amazing how fast time flies when you’re having fun! So first things first, here’s all my 6 month out info. I am currently stalled at 256. I deserve to be stalled because I have been severely slacking. I haven’t seen the inside of a gym in 3+ weeks. I stopped protein tracking, water tracking, and calorie counting completely. I have been cooking and trying to eat healthy foods and make healthy choices but I could (and should) be putting in more effort. I’ve also picked up a nasty craving for chocolate. I blame my in laws (not really, but it’s easier to blame them than to take responsibility). For the holidays they bought us two boxes of Fannie May Mint Meltaway chocolates and lets just say no one else in my house has eaten a piece. In one month I have eaten two boxes to myself. Shit :O

For a long time I was upset by what a “slow loser” I am. After talking to a lot of people (through my facebook group, bariatric pal, and people who have found my blog), I have learned that this is normal. Everyone loses differently. I know some people that have dropped 100+ pounds in 6 months, and I know some people who are 6 months out and have lost 20 pounds. Everyone’s different and that is OKAY. I know it doesn’t feel that way when you’re a slower loser but it honestly is. I had a long talk to my nutritionist yesterday and she gave me so much valuable advice. She said that it can be good to lose slowly for a lot of reasons. She said for starters it’s typically easier for “slow losers” to maintain weightloss. She also said when you lose really fast you are much more likely to encounter sickness (such as kidney stones, gallbladder removal, etc). She made me realize the biggest mistake that I’ve been making in my thinking: this is NOT a race! There is no rush to the finish line. The whole process is just about learning how to be a healthier human being and I can say with 100% of my confidence that I have done that! I cook 6 out of 7 nights a week. I haven’t had potatoes in weeks, I cut out rice and pasta, and I eat things I never thought in a million years I would be eating (like cauliflower rice, spaghetti squash, zucchini noodles, tomatoes, and loads of veggies). I can honestly say that I eat healthy 75-80% of the time. Eventually I would like that to be 90-95% of the time but I’m working on it (especially since I used to eat healthy 0% of the time). My nutritionist finally smacked some sense into me. I need to forget the number and focus on my new life and my new habits. She also said that she knows many patients who lost at a slower pace and still hit goal within 16 months or so. So instead of worrying about the scale I just want to focus on getting better habits. I want to start tracking my water, calories and protein and start going to the gym more (or at least working out at home). I know I can do it.

Other than that I don’t have a lot to update y’all on. We went to the Planetarium and Chinatown last week and it was a lot of fun! Autumn loved seeing the planets and playing with kids in the play area. After the museum we went to Chinatown and ate Dim Sum and walked around the shops. It was a really nice day! My fitbit said we walked a total of 5.4 miles and I was fine. In fact, I could have walked more! Autumn’s also been spending a lot of time with her best friend Beni. Beni lives literally two apartments down from us. She’s 3 months older than Autumn and we have been talking to her parents for a long time but they didn’t really have that much interest in playing together when they were younger. Now they are inseparable! They cry when they have to separate. It’s the cutest thing! Oh yeah, on a side note: I’m heartbroken about the Packer’s loss to the Seahawks. The Seahawks are an incredible team so I knew it was a possibility, but still… </3

I don’t usually commemorate people on here but yesterday was Martin Luther King Jr. Day and I had to say something about it. He was such a courageous human being. That’s what I want to become. A courageous person. Someone who is never afraid to stand up for what I believe in. Someone who’s not afraid to make changes in my life that will benefit my future and the future of my family and my loved ones. I just want to be more courageous. When I think of what he went through for change, it absolutely dumbfounds me. It makes everything I’m going through seem somewhat small. It puts every thing in perspective. That inspires me. He inspires me. R.I.P. you genius, courageous man.

IMG_4016

“We must accept finite disappointment but never lose infinite hope.”- Martin Luther King Jr.

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”- Martin Luther King Jr.

“Courage is the power of the mind to overcome fear.”- Martin Luther King Jr.

Until next time,

Dimand Girl

IMG_4010

^^Planetarium and Chinatown^^

IMG_4024

^^Autumn and Beni^^ ♥

IMG_4014

^^6 month difference^^

Leave a Reply

