Recipe’s and NSV’s (Rhyme Intended)

I know you are all probably wondering “what did we do to be so lucky that she’s posting TWICE today!?” At least I hope that’s what you’re wondering! My second post was given away in the title. First I am posting recipe’s, and then I am posting a small list of NSV’s. For those of that don’t know an NSV is a non-scale victory. Any victory that does not have anything to do with stepping on the scale (i.e. being able to cross my legs… more to come).

First up on the chopping block… I have a couple awesome recipes for you guys! Full disclosure: I’m a seafood addict. Not fish really (I’m actually kind of sick of fish), but scallops, shrimp, lobster, crab…. YUM! Lately since scallops are out of season I have really set my sites on shrimp. In the last month I’ve probably made over 15 recipes for shrimp. Today I am giving you guys my two favorites. Both super easy, quick, and absolutely delicious! Plus an awesome source of protein. Now keep in mind that I don’t eat starches very often so I don’t really know what to pair these with. I usually eat them alone or with zucchini noodles, broccoli, or another vegetable. It takes about 15-20 (small) shrimp to fill me, but the nutritional value still is awesome.

download

(^^not my picture, but it looks pretty similar^^)

Delicious Bang Bang Shrimp:

-15 to 20 shrimp

-oil

-cornstarch

-1/4 cup thai sweet chili sauce

-1.5 teaspoon sriracha

-1/4 cup lite mayo

-slotted spoon

-small pot

Thaw the shrimp. De-tail them and pat them down with a paper towel to dry. Heat up oil of choice in the pot. Just enough oil to properly fry the shrimp. Dredge shrimp in cornstarch. When the oil heats to 375 degrees (if you don’t have a thermometer wait for it to crackle a bit), throw the shrimp in and let it sit for about 1-3 minutes. While they are frying combine the mayo, sriracha and thai sweet chili sauce and stir well. The sauce will be redish orange. When the shrimp have browned a little, use the slotted spoon to take them out and place them on a paper towel. Once they cool a little bit (about 3 minutes) throw them into the sauce mixture and mix until fully coated. There will probably be sauce leftover which is fine because the sauce is delicious on everything! They might need to be thrown in the microwave for 20 seconds because the sauce sometimes makes them cool down too much (keep in mind I like my food hot). This sauce is lick the bowl good! You will want to make this all the time, trust me!!

Easy-Garlic-Butter-Shrimp

(^^not my picture, but it looks pretty similar^^)

Shrimp and Parsley:

-15 to 20 shrimp

-salt

-pepper

-parsley flakes

Thaw the shrimp, de-tail them, and pat dry with a paper towel. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with pam or crisco and lay on the shrimp in even lines without touching each other. Sprinkle the shrimp with salt, pepper, and parsley. Throw in the oven for 8-10 minutes and done. Super delicious! 

Now it’s time for my list of NSV’s!! I’m very excited for this because I’ve never actually said any of them out loud so it’s fun to think about my accomplishments without a scale number attached.

Dimand Girl’s 6 Month NSV’s:

-Crossing my legs comfortably (most of the way)

-More energy

-More stamina

-Better sleep

-Being able to keep up with people (especially Autumn)

-All the new friends I’ve made through the WLS community

-Tons of space between the steering wheel and my belly

-Not afraid to try new strenuous things

-Fitting in smaller sizes means more clothing options

There’s many many many more but those are the ones that pop out at me. Thanks for reading everyone!

Dimand Girl

“You only live once, lick the bowl.”- Unknown

“We believe in celebrations both big and small.”- Kate Spade

“Small victories are better than none.”- Neal Shusterman

“Acknowledge all of your small victories. They will eventually add up to something great.”- Kara Goucher

Leave a Reply

