“And the Oscar Goes to…”

Hey loves!!

How was everyone’s Valentine’s Day? Mine was really good! Alex and Timur gave Autumn and I gifts and we went out to dinner and it was a really nice day! I love romance *happy sigh*. And since I once again waited two weeks to update you guys (sorry…), this may be a long one. Sorry in advance! Here goes:

I had a bad eating week the last two weeks. When I started this blog I promised myself I would always be honest and truthful to my readers. You guys need to know that the surgery is NOT the easy way out. It’s not a “quick fix.” It’s hard work. And sometimes you will fail. I hate admitting this, but in the last two weeks of eating badly I gained weight (went up to 255). The reason I am telling you this (other than you guys deserving the whole truth [even the ugly truth]), is because I want you all to know that the important part is PICKING YOURSELF BACK UP after mistakes. Everyone makes mistakes. Everyone. A few days ago I analyzed my biggest mistakes and now I’m working on them. For example instead of eating 5 meals a day (and calling them “snacks”), I am learning how to actually snack. I tried hummus again (before surgery I tried it once and decided I hated it). I got the Sabra Roasted Garlic hummus and I totally love it. For a snack yesterday I had carrots and hummus. I’ve also been eating a lot of blackberries. They are super low in carbs! One of my favorite snacks right now is turkey lettuce roll ups. I take some lettuce cups off of a head of lettuce. I put some honey roasted turkey in it, some lite colby jack cheese, and some chopped tomato and it’s super yummy and pretty much no carbs. It won’t keep you full for more than an hour or two, but it’s delicious and healthy.

My meals are still pretty seafood based but I’ve been slowly incorporating chicken back into the mix. I’m still obsessed with scallops. I often pan-fry scallops and shrimp with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley and they come out fantastic! I eat them with zucchini noodles (if I’m craving a complex carb I’ll have half a cup of mashed potatoes) and broccoli. I found a dynamite recipe for a healthier version of chicken parmesan and it’s to die for! It’s now a part of our weekly rotation. By the way during the two weeks weight gain period I started eating frozen dinners and just….crap. I’ve stopped now. I’m done with frozen dinners and I’m actually starting to cook and eat more organic foods. I just started buying only organic eggs. It may only be one thing but as I keep learning and moving along I’m finding out new info and I will keep modifying my diet (and my family’s) to be healthier and more natural.

Now for some more personal updates:

I was accepted to Northern Illinois University!! I still have to apply to the school of communicative disorders, but I’m super excited about this! Our lease is up in June and we’re trying to decide our course of action right now. Do we move or stay (there is positives and negatives to both)? If we move, where? How much can we/should we spend a month? Blah blah blah. A lot of decisions to make and not much time to make them! I’ll keep you guys updated when the decision is- finally- made.

We are also in the middle of potty training Autumn still. Two words: SO ANNOYING! She has gone potty on our carpet at least 10 times. She does make it to the potty sometimes, too, but she basically picks and chooses when she wants to. If anyone has any advice, please reach out to me!

So last night was the Oscars. Alex is a huge film buff so we watch them every year. WHY DIDN’T BOYHOOD WIN!? Birdman sucked (in my opinion). Anyway, I was so moved by Patricia Arquette’s beautiful speech. I was also positively liberated by the audiences response! This is our time! It is time for equal rights!!!! For those of you who don’t know, I am a feminist. Alex is also a feminist (he was a feminist far before me). Her speech reached deep into my soul and just reminded me of why I am a feminist. I could not love her any more than I already do. Fantastic!

Until next time,

Dimand Girl

HW: 330

SW: 310

CW: 252

“Small changes eventually add up to huge results.”- Unknown

“I’m a feminist. I’ve been a female for a long time now. It’d be stupid not to be on my own side.”- Maya Angelou

“It’s our time to have wage equality once and for all, and equal rights for women in the United States of America.”- Patricia Arquette (from her speech at the Oscars)

IMG_4874

^^ ❤ We got pretty spoiled on V-Day! ❤ ^^

10985513_821921267843334_1979284625461905522_n

^^YES!^^

Leave a Reply

