Diaries of a Working Girl

Hey guys!

I’m a little heartbroken because we saw a townhouse that we absolutely fell in love with (it’s a three story, loft-style town house) but the chances of us getting it are slim to none. The owner of the place really wants to sell it, and he’s going to rent it out as a last resort, but in two days they’ve already had a bunch of offers. Like I said, kind of heartbroken. I’ll let y’all know if by some miracle we get it, but I seriously doubt it. Goodbye beautiful town home. 😦

I started my new job and I really like it! It’s at Old Navy, and for some reason the place already kind of feels like home. It’s difficult to get used to the schedule of a new job, but as far as jobs go- this one is great!

There’s a couple bad things about working. For starters, I miss my family. It sucks being at work knowing that my family is at home hanging out and eating dinner without me. It really sucks when I know Autumn’s going to bed and I don’t get to say goodnight to her. It’s only been one day since I’ve started work, and I gained two pounds. Woops. I know I can lose them quickly, but I recognize why that happened in the first place. I didn’t pack a dinner, so I wound up eating Chipotle. I tried to keep it healthier by getting a burrito bowl with chicken, brown rice, and lettuce, but it’s still not the healthiest of options. Plus I got chips. Double woops. Small side note: chips are my kryptonite. I didn’t even really like them before surgery but after…. I crave them! I need to figure out a way to eat healthier lunches and dinners, and to start packing meals for work since a lot of shifts I’m taking are the night shift (4-10 pm).

As I think I mentioned once before, I have never been that great at balancing too many things. Some people (like my sister) can do a million things a day and still do them well. For example, she was working full time, going to school full time (not to mention graduated with her B.A. and had a 4.0 GPA!), and raising a daughter (my beautiful niece). HOLY SMOKES! I wish I could balance as well as her. For me, I can do well in two area’s but then I will likely fail at the other two. I thrive in school, and I (seriously hope) I thrive as a mama. But then the eating and exercise part, not so much. Or I will be a good worker, eat well, exercise, but then be too exhausted for school and playing with Autumn. I never feel like I can do everything to 100%. I’m still searching for my balance and hopefully I’ll find it sooner rather than later.

So as I briefly mentioned in the last paragraph… exercising, not so much. I was loving running, but I haven’t in a week. I justified it by being like “well, now I’m going to be on my feet for hours on end at work, so there’s no point to work out.” I know what b.s. that excuse is and I’m trying to stop thinking that way. It just sucks because when I come home from work I have one hour with the boys before we all go to bed. I want to cherish that hour and spend it with them, not go out running. Ugh, if only there were more hours in the day. I need to start running again. Even if I cut it down to only two times a week, at least I’ll still be doing it.

I’m not sure I’ll ever know what my calling is in life (in terms of a career). My brother is hell bent that I should still pursue Speech and Language Pathology, but I really don’t want to be in school that many years. I’m really considering getting a Bachelor’s Degree is Business Administration with an emphasis on marketing, management, or something along those lines. The reason is because it seems that every company in the world has room to hire people with a Business degree. When I go onto indeed.com, almost every full-time job asks for a “Bachelor’s Degree in Business or any related Degree.” I also have faith that if I’m miserable with that decision one day, I will figure something out from there. Still not sure what I’m going to do, but I enrolled in school for business classes. Again, any more advice or comments please email or send my way!

Thank you guys so much for always letting me vent and always being there with support, words of encouragement, and positivity. I started this blog to help people, but y’all are really also helping me. So thank you!

Love to all,

Dimand Girl

HW: 330

SW: 310

CW: 248 😦

“It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard is what makes it great.”- Jimmy Dugan, a character from A League of Their Own (one of my dad’s favorite movies)

3 thoughts on “Diaries of a Working Girl

  1. Hi Suzy , keep it up! We will find a better home by this or next summer, trust me. Right now Scarsdale is fine.. We have in-home friends, are near everything and have time to save more “dough”. Once one of us finds just one good job complimentary to our degree the home search will be much more ripe for the picking!

    We are all very proud of your journey and continuous fight and success! Happy Mother’s Day :).

Leave a Reply

