“The Land of Stories”

Hey guys! How’s everyone doing?

I wanted to start this post by saying a huge thank you! In the last couple of weeks (since my one year Surgiversary post), I have received an outpouring of love from y’all! I have received over 350 emails, Facebook messages, and texts from people. Wow! I couldn’t have even imagined the type of love and support I would get just from taking the steps to better myself. I have met so many incredible people, made so many lasting friendships, and learned so much about myself in the last year. This journey is far from over, and it’s the most beautiful one I could have imagined. I have fallen in love with life all over again.

Things are great on my end! For those of you who don’t know, Alex works in a school district as a teacher’s aide for special needs students. During the summer he wanted to keep working so he found a job at a daycare. He was recently promoted to a high school position (he was working with kindergartners before), and he took off the last couple weeks of summer before the high school starts so we can have time together as a family! I’m loving it! We go swimming all the time, we cook together, go to the library together… we basically do everything together and I love it!

Other than having my best friend home with me 24/7, not a whole lot of big updates. I’ve been spending lots of time with my friends. A couple nights ago I went to Dinah’s house and we watched some Batman, then we went to a hookah bar, and then we went to a real bar. It was super fun! I didn’t get back until quite late but it didn’t matter since Alex doesn’t work we stayed up and cuddled still. And yesterday we went to National Night Out in downtown Arlington Heights. It was so fun! It’s a cute festival with a live band, free stuff everywhere (popcorn, Popsicle’s, water, stickers, markers, face painting, moon bounces, the list goes on and on), and village trucks for the kiddos to play on (firetrucks, police cars, army hummers, etc). Autumn had a blast! I’ve also been reading the series “The Land of Stories” by Chris Colfer. Awesome books!

We leave for Wisconsin Dells next week! We’ll be spending three days in the water park capital! One of the days Autumn is going to this place called Kids Quest which is a daycare type center so the adults can go do all of the scary slides (and maybe enjoy a margarita or two!). Most of the crew is going: Alex, Timur, me, Autumn, Sophia, Dinah, and Gregg will be meeting us there. Woohoo! The last major hoorah of summer! Maybe.

My birthday is at the end of the month! Not sure how we’re celebrating yet but I know all of my friends will be getting together to do something. I will be 25. Jeez, time flies when you’re having fun!

Can y’all tell I really don’t have many updates? I’ve just been enjoying life every day! I hope you guys are doing the same!

Dimand Girl

“Life is short. Break the rules. Forgive quickly. Kiss slowly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably. And never regret anything that makes you smile.”- Mark Twain

^^I’m only using one quote today, because that quote means everything.^

11050812_10205694829347463_1712786505511838354_n

^^Girls night! Dinner and drinks at Blackfinn!^^

IMG_0042

^^Night out on the town with Dinah!^^

IMG_0123

^^National Night Out in downtown Arlington Heights!^^

Leave a Reply

